Welcome to Eana

janvier 07, 2019 Dragons 0 Comments

Powered by the 5th Edition ruleset with the addition of many original options, Fateforge features Eana, an entirely new campaign setting for your adventures. Following the sword & sorcery tradition, the adventurers will travel through grandiose landscapes and interact with exotic, colorful civilizations, from the sprawling metropolis of the Free City to equatorial Acoatl.

Their journey will be fraught with peril and they will face many strange, fearsome opponents, be they the loathsome spawns of Canker, the demon princes from the moon Melancholia, or the formidable barbarian lords of the Kaani hordes.

By dint of skill, bravery, or cunning, they will overcome increasingly challenging ordeals, and perhaps find their way to the mythical Fateforge and ascend to godhood!

In the lair of the Dragon God, by Gawain

The Fate-Chosen

The player characters are adventurers, which means that they are more than ordinary travelers and risk-takers: they are Fate-chosen, beings of exception blessed by the Fateforge, a mythical entity that steers destiny toward world-changing outcomes. The more ordeals they face, the stronger they grow, until they become capable of altering the course of regions or even entire kingdoms, if not worlds.

The basic rules will be familiar to any 5th Edition player, though with the addition of a plethora of exclusive content intended to enhance the dramatic experience and to let players customize the game to their heart’s content. To that effect, many optional rules are included via a modular system that makes them easy to identify and implement depending on the intended game style and favored genre.

Priestress of Death, by Chane

The Modular System

Fateforge’s modular system is based on one of the most popular aspect of the Shadows of Esteren system. It was designed so that content can be conveniently categorized in accordance to the genre it is most suited to, so that players can make informed choices when deciding what rules to implement, what aspects of the game to put to the forefront, and what dynamics to follow. Do you want your game to be representative of the canons of heroic fantasy? Use the rules labeled “Action” to make the characters all the more powerful and successful. Do you want to play a dark-fantasy, survival-oriented game? “Dark” and “Gritty” options have been designed for you… but do take note that they will give characters a hard time and make them all the more vulnerable!

Whether they are budding heroes in the making powerful veterans, the players will have their work cut out for themselves, Fateforge having room for both everyday human drama and far-reaching stakes. This can range from struggling to keep peace between two petty lords all the way to battling cosmic horrors.
Likewise, the game’s many options will let game leaders customize their campaign so that it fits the kind of experience they and their players are looking for.

The modular system is comprised of five categories: Action, Dark, Gritty, Intrigue, and Mystery. Here is a quick description for each of them:

◾ Action: Straight from heroic fantasy, this indicates all the rules that offer epic options and put the character’s feats and achievements at the forefront.
◾ Dark: These optional rules are all related to horror, madness, or corruption, making for a dark fantasy atmosphere.
◾ Gritty: Use these options if you want harsher and generally more realistic gameplay, resulting in a tough playstyle where nothing will be made easy for the PCs—quite the opposite!
◾ Intrigue: These optional rules focus on the interactions between the characters, on the schemes and plots between the factions, and on anything that accentuates the roles of the characters and encourages their interpretation.
◾ Mystery: Designates rules dealing with mysteries, supernatural elements, and anything related to secrets and arcana.

Prince of the Rachamangekr, By Gawain

A Comprehensive Introduction to the Series

The core of the Fateforge series is made of two books: 
◾ Adventurers is the core book, including thorough rules on character creation, the basic system, an overview of the world, and equipment, all with plenty of exclusive content: feats, rules on background creation, class archetypes, and even a new class called the Scholar.
◾ Grimoire details spellcasting and magic in general, as well as corruption and madness. It goes over geomagic, a notion particular to Fateforge that refers to localized magical phenomena. This book also provides insight into the Awakening, a phenomenon particular to Eana though which an individual becomes able to use magic. It also comprises a compendium of more than 360 spells, including many new ones and original options and variants.

We are planning the release of two additional books, only for game leaders:
◾ Bestiary gathers information on a multitude of creatures, ranging from revisited classics like the ankheg or ghoul to unique creations like the ulkani or nixe. All come with dedicated in-depth profiles, complete with stat blocks and descriptions of their habits and customs. Naturally, this book is richly illustrated with breathtaking artworks by the Shadows of Esteren team (winner of the 2013 ENnie for Best Art), prominently featuring the art of Gawain, whose work you can see in the present article.
◾ Arcana covers the history and secrets of the world, at both a mundane and supernatural scale: deities and other extraordinary entities (Cankerous princes, demonic princes, archfey, and many more awe-inspiring beings!), worldwide and extraplanar geography, and of course artifacts, wonders, and assorted magic items.

Frost Giant, by Gawain

The creative team is also working on Eana, an atlas that gets to the meat of the game’s lore and worldbuilding, thoroughly detailing each of its eighteen civilizations and providing plot hooks, giving an abundance of material to imagine adventures in the universe of Fateforge.

The Fateforge series will also come with its own modules, the first of which has been written by the legendary Ed Greenwood, creator of the Forgotten Realms, and will have adventurers venture to the foreboding Fort Ardraco on the trail of a string of kidnappings.
A Manticore, by Gawain



Fateforge is the newest creation of Studio Agate. It associates the experience of the artistic team of Shadows of Esteren, the most awarded French role-playing game, with that of the best specialists of the most iconic role-playing game, including translators of the 3rd and 4th Editions.

Adventurers, the core book of the series, as well as Grimoire, which covers magic and spellcasting, are both scheduled to be released for GenCon 2019.

Subscribe to our newsletter to be notified when our Kickstarter project is launched
◾ Join us on Discord

0 commentaires:

Remarque : Seul un membre de ce blog est autorisé à enregistrer un commentaire.